mcpit A sensation. In the 25-year history of the PGA today marks the first tie for the feature prize, between Gravity and 12 Years A Slave. That’s amazing. The PGA prize is a pretty important pre-cursor to the Best Picture Oscar. The winner here often goes on to be awarded by the AMPAS. With American Hustle also in contention, this tie makes that category impossible to predict. There will be genuine suspense come the announcement of Best Picture, which has not happened for a long time. I love Gravity and I have never given up hope of it winning Best Picture. That enthusiasm has been given another surge today.

Here are some of the winners from the PGA:

The Darryl F. Zanuck Award for Outstanding Producer of Theatrical Motion Pictures (TIE)


Gravity (Warner Bros. Pictures) Producers: Alfonso Cuarón, David Heyman

and 12 Years a Slave (Fox Searchlight Pictures); Producers: Anthony Katagas, Jeremy Kleiner, Steve McQueen, Brad Pitt and Dede Gardner

The Norman Felton Award for Outstanding Producer of Episodic Television, Drama


Breaking Bad (AMC); Producers: Melissa Bernstein, Sam Catlin, Bryan Cranston, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Mark Johnson, Stewart Lyons, Michelle MacLaren, George Mastras, Diane Mercer, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Documentary Theatrical Motion Picture:

We Steal Secrets: The Story Of Wikileaks (Focus Features); Producers: Alexis Bloom, Alex Gibney, Marc Shmuger

The David L. Wolper Award for Outstanding Producer of Long-Form Television: Behind the Candelabra (HBO); Producers: Susan Ekins, Gregory Jacobs, Michael Polaire, Jerry Weintraub

The Award for Outstanding Producer of Animated Theatrical Motion Pictures: Frozen (Walt Disney Studios Motion Pictures); Producer: Peter Del Vecho

Andrew Buckle - follow Andy on Twitter here: @buckle22

Andy Buckle is a passionate Sydney-based film enthusiast and reviewer who has built a respected online voice at his personal blog, The Film Emporium. Andy will contribute reviews, features and be our resident film festival, and awards expert.