Yesterday the Writer's Guild of America (WGA) announced the winners in their annual awards.
The winners for the film categories follow:
Original Screenplay
Her, written by Spike Jonze
Eric Warren Singer & David O. Russell (American Hustle), Bob Nelson (Nebraska), Woody Allen (Blue Jasmine) and Craig Borten and Melisa Wallack (Dallas Buyers Club), along with Jonze, have been nominated for the Oscar. Despite Jonze's victory here, and deserved favoritism, this is still a competitive category.
Adapted Screenplay
Captain Phillips, screenplay by Billy Ray; based on the book 'A Captain's Duty: Somali Pirates, Navy SEALS, and Dangerous Days at Sea' by Richard Phillips and Stephen Tulty.
Ray's screenplay beat out fellow Oscar-nominated screenplays for The Wolf of Wall Street and Before Midnight, which admittedly was a surprise. I expected Wolf to win here. 12 Years A Slave and Philomema were ineligible for the WGA, but challenge Captain Phillips. Many expect John Ridley's screenplay for 12 Years A Slave to win, but it now looks like Ray will be it's best competition.
Documentary Screenplay
Stories We Tell, written by Sarah Polley

Andy Buckle is a passionate Sydney-based film enthusiast and reviewer who has built a respected online voice at his personal blog, The Film Emporium. Andy will contribute reviews, features and be our resident film festival, and awards expert.